Association for Political History

Amid great interest, the Association for Political History (APH) was launched in Leiden in 2014.


The association aims to strengthen international cooperation in the field of education and research, thus promoting the quality of research. Furthermore, APH will provide high-quality training opportunities for PhD candidates and advanced students pursuing Masters’ degrees in Political History.


While APH was inaugurated as a European initiative, it will develop an international profile. The association defines Political History broadly and wishes to be inclusive, incorporating, amongst others, the History of Institutions, Parties, Public Policies, Political Cultures and Political Ideas. APH welcomes historians working from different perspectives, such as, for instance, Transnational History or Gender Studies. Membership is open for institutions and individuals.


APH organizes annual conferences for PhD candidates starting in Lucca (2014), Leiden (2014), Bielefeld(2015), Aarhus (2016) and Jyväskylä (2017). In 2018 SciencesPo. Paris will be hosting the conference and in 2019 King’s College London.

For PhD candidates and postdocs, a Political History PhD LinkedIn group is active which publishes a newsletter and organizes annual workshops for and by PhD candidates.

Board members have developed (EU) research  applications as well as a book series for Palgrave Macmillan. (( The first issue in the series has been published in 2017.

Leidenconference_fotoArthurKoppejan (2)

Launch of the Association

Board and members

President of the APH is prof. dr. Marc Lazar (SciencesPo. Paris).

Other members of the board are dr. Hagen Schulz-Forberg (Aarhus University), prof. dr. Pasi Ihalainen (Jyväskylä University), prof. dr. Giovanni Orsina (LUISS University Roma), prof. dr. Henk te Velde (Leiden University), prof. dr. Richard Vinen (King’s College London) and prof. dr. Thomas Welskopp (Bielefeld University).

The APH’s Secretariat is headed by Dr. Margit van der Steen (Research School Political History, Amsterdam). Other members include prof. dr. Norbert Götz (Södertörn University Stockholm), prof. dr. Irène Hermann (Université de Genève) and prof. dr. Lucy Riall (European University Institute Florence).